SCSC awards thousands to graduating SHS seniors

By Holly DeCarlo-White
USAG Stuttgart Public Affairs

The Stuttgart Community Spouses Club (SCSC) awarded $79,000 to 34 members of the Stuttgart High School class of 2018, June 1, in the school auditorium on Panzer Kaserne.

“Knowledge is its own reward,” said David Carlisle, SHS principal during opening remarks of the assembly. The event recognized students who have earned scholarships from various private organizations, as well as military appointments, and athletic and academic awards.

Funding for SCSC scholarships and welfare grants are made possible by proceeds from Patch Barracks Thrift Shop and other member events, to include the Spring Bazaar. More than $350,000 annually goes back into the community by way of scholarships, military balls, youth sports and other organizational grants in Stuttgart.

This year, the SCSC scholarship committee will give back a total of $136,000 to high school seniors, continuing college students and spouses affiliated with the Stuttgart military community. The judging criteria for scholarships for seniors includes: GPA, ACT or SAT score; school involvement; leadership; community service/volunteer time; employment time, and an essay.

“Our scholarships this year range from $500 to $10,000 and were granted to 62 applicants. Three applicants were ineligible to receive funds due to military academy appointments and a Gap year plan. These students were recognized as Honorable Scholars,” said Traci Haggard, SCSC scholarship chairperson.

SCSC scholarship awardees stand together in the SHS auditorium as the final awards are distributed, June 1, 2018. Photo by Holly DeCarlo-White

SHS Scholarship Awardees

  • Aidan Dehan
  • Amanda Fuglaar
  • Anders Bergeson
  • Bradley Roxbury
  • Bradley Russell
  • Brianna Davis
  • Callie McGurk
  • Callum Funk
  • Cameron Pfister
  • Camille Pereira
  • Caylee Creer
  • Clare Walls
  • Damon Tingey
  • Derek Norris
  • Dylan Rodriguez
  • Emberleigh Rivera
  • Erin Rhodehamel
  • Frank Whitworth
  • Gustavus De Andrade
  • Hannah Cahill
  • Jakob Kalwaites
  • Kendall Smith
  • Kevin Debrine
  • Liam Fortier
  • Luke Matvey
  • Madeline Konig
  • Marquis Jackson
  • Mitchell Stoner
  • Nina Gante
  • Ryan Martin
  • Sara Johnson
  • Savannah Hallgarth
  • Shaelyn Pond
  • Sydney Smith
  • Zoe Rolston

Honorable Scholars

  • Caitlin Shekelton
  • Justin Yates (Air Force Academy)
  • Kurt Huebschman (Coast Guard Academy)

Spouse Awardees

  • Alexis Gardner
  • Lisa Dolby
  • Rachel Andrews
  • Sharon McMillon

Continuing Education Awardees

  • Catherine Massie
  • Christopher Cheadle
  • Connor Fortier
  • Daniel Wetlesen
  • Emme Corson
  • Faith Kruger
  • Hayley Kunde
  • Jessica Thompson
  • Katherine Viana
  • Katie Morrow
  • Kelsey Morrow
  • Kristen Funk
  • Lexington McLellan
  • Lorin Byrd
  • Mary Debrine
  • Nicole Hartwell
  • Rachel Bragg
  • Sara Tingey
  • Sophia Pauken
  • Stefan Pfister
  • Tana Putnam
  • Tenley Getschman
  • Wyatt Puttnam

View the photo album. For information on scholarships, grants or SCSC membership, visit