European Command recognizes top service members, civilian employees

The nominees for the EUCOM Service Members and Civilians of the Year award pose for a photo opportunity with Maj. Gen. Mark Barrett, EUCOM chief of staff (center) and EUCOM Command Sgt. Maj. Randy Woods (far right) at the Patch Theater Jan. 31. The command announced their outstanding service members and civilians of the year during the ceremony where Gen. Barrett was the guest speaker. Photo by Richard Herman.

U.S. European Command Communication and Engagement

United States European Command announced their outstanding service members and civilians of the year at a ceremony held at the Patch Theater Jan. 31.

Maj. Gen. Mark Barrett, the U.S. EUCOM chief of staff, presided over the ceremony and was the guest speaker.

He commented on how 2013 was a challenging year for the command. In fact, as he sets to retire this summer, he said it was one of his most challenging in the 34 years he’s served in the U.S. Air Force.

Barrett said the challenges will remain in 2014, therefore he thanked the command for what they do every day.

“I do appreciate this headquarters and this staff on what you bring to the fight every single day,” Barrett said. “The enthusiasm, the morale, the good nature — it helps me quite a bit as I go through the daily work.

“In the last two years here, I can’t think of a greater organization or greater group of people to spend my last two years with. I want to personally thank you for your outstanding support and let you know how much I appreciate your hard work and dedication.”

Barrett wrapped up his speech looking forward to the great things to come from the U.S. EUCOM annual award nominees in the future.

“To our nominees,” he said. “Congratulations. Thank you for what you do every day and I look forward to more great things out of you in the future.”

After recognizing each of the nominees, the master of ceremonies, Senior Master Sgt. Reiko Meeks, U.S. EUCOM Cyber Directorate senior enlisted leader, announced the annual award winners for 2013.

Military winners

Junior Service Member
Airman 1st Class Gabrielle Baughman
Joint Intelligence Center-Europe Analytic Center

Mid-level Noncommissioned Officer
Petty Officer 1st Class Brian Lee
Manpower, Personnel and Administration Directorate

Senior Noncommissioned Officer
Master Sgt. Daniel Spencer
Joint Intelligence Center-Europe Analytic Center

Civilian winners

Category I – GS 1-8 (GG, LN, and WG Equivalent)
Kelly Hawkins
Directorate of Logistics

Category II – GS 9-13 (GG, LN, and WG Equivalent)
Abigail Goss
Directorate of Logistics

Category III – GS 14-15 (GG, LN, and WG Equivalent)
Linda Benedik
Directorate of Analysis and Assessments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *