Volunteers recognized for contributions to community

By Greg Jones
USAG Stuttgart Public Affairs Office

U.S. Army Garrison Stuttgart recognized its outstanding volunteers April 24 during a yearly volunteer recognition ceremony at Patch Community Club.

In 2013, 425 volunteers contributed at least 10 hours or more of volunteer work for a total of 77,330 hours. This equates to a cost savings of $1,712,086.20 to the garrison last year, according to Andy Mueller, the USAG Stuttgart Army Volunteer Corps Program manager.

Volunteers are absolutely vital to the Stuttgart military community and make outstanding contributions in a number of areas, according to Col. John P. Stack, the U.S. Army Garrison Stuttgart commander, who also pointed out the hard work and devotion the volunteers exemplify.

“After working all day, after taking care of the household, after getting the kids to soccer and picking them up again — even with all of that — they spend their limited time making their community even better,” said Stack. “Now that’s selfless service.”

Volunteers were recognized for their efforts in youth activities, student volunteering, community outreach and other areas.

Commander’s Volunteer of Excellence awards were presented those who donated more than 1,000 hours in 2013. Shannon Carlton, Roswitha Cook, Gudrun Kaper, Susan Tipton and Marine Chief Warrant Officer 3 Timothy Ward, assigned to Marine Forces Europe/Africa, received this award.

Volunteers of the Year awards were presented in five categories. Volunteers were nominated by an organization they volunteered for, and were selected by a panel of judges.

Youth Volunteer of the Year was shared by two sibling teams, Candace and Camille Carson, and Troy and Miesha Blue.

Other Volunteers of the Year were:

Melissa Kreitzer, Civilian Volunteer of the Year
Theresa Amblad, Spouse Volunteer of the Year
Marine Chief Warrant Officer 3 Timothy Ward, Military Volunteer of the Year
David Gouin, Military Retiree Volunteer of the Year

Nominees for volunteer of the awards (and recipients of Certificates of Excellence) were:

Teresa Babilot
Heidi Barker
Aida Bowers
William Ewer
Thomas Fray
Andrea Garcia
Juanita Harvin
Connie Hickling-Wojuk
James Joyce
Sonia Lebel
Yanela Lopez
Jessica Lowy
Kris Massey
Lisa McRoberts
Sherry Quinteros
John Rampulla
Ann Kathy Reed
Melissa Rodeffer
Staci Riberts
Sherry Snider
Jolanda Songer
Ursula Zimmer

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *